Klara Nahrstedt

Nahrstedt Named Director of the Coordinated Science Laboratory

February 15, 2015   CS Professor Klara Nahrstedt is the new Director of the Coordinated Science Laboratory.
4-H logo

Feeding the Pipeline: New CS Education Initiative to Reach Middle School Students Statewide

February 15, 2015   CS @ ILLINOIS is partnering with 4-H in an initiative to attract more youth to computing programming and related fields.
Sheldon H. Jacobson

Jacobson Brings Analytics Expertise to Ebola Screening

February 11, 2015   Professor Sheldon H. Jacobson has been providing hisexpertise on the topic of controlling the spread of Ebola.
Urvashi Khandelwal

Khandelwal Receives CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award

January 22, 2015   Urvashi Khandelwal was one of four recipients of the 2015 CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers Award.
Sridhar Duggirala

Duggirala Inspired by Research Giants

January 21, 2015   Sridhar Duggirala attended the 2014 Heidelberg Laureate Forum and met pioneers of computer science and mathematics.
LaValle and Oculus Rift

After Oculus Rift: Lavalle Returns to Campus

January 20, 2015   Steve LaValle brings his experience as head scientist at Oculus VR back to the classroom at Illinois.
CS Professor Dan Roth (R) and graduate student Subhro Roy

Software Teaches Computers to Translate Words to Math

January 19, 2015   Dan Roth and Subhro Roy developed software that enables machines to understand mathematical reasoning expressed in language.

Adve Named a Fellow of ACM

January 14, 2015   CS Professor Vikram Adve has been named a 2014 Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
SSM rocket

Three CS Teams in National Field of 64 for Student Startup Madness

January 11, 2015   Three CS @ ILLINOIS teams were among the 64 selected for the 2015 Student Startup Madness.

Security Princess Inspires CS Students

December 18, 2014   Parisa Tabriz (BS CS ’06) gave a presentation on Internet security as part of the WCS Alumni and Student Banquet.
Paris Smaragdis

Smaragdis Named an IEEE Fellow

December 15, 2014   CS Assistant Professor Paris Smaragdis was named a Fellow of IEEE.
News story image

Levchin Inducted into Engineering at Illinois Hall of Fame

December 15, 2014   Max Levchin was recently inducted into the Engineering at Illinois Hall of Fame.
tandy Warnow

New Method Helps Map Species' Genetic Heritage

December 10, 2014   Tandy Warnow has been conducting research on statistical binning that has helped map the genetic heritage of bird species.
Man Ki Yoon

Yoon Receives Padovani Scholarship

December 8, 2014   Man-Ki Yoon received the Roberto Padovani Scholarship from Qualcomm.
CSAW thumbnail

Illinois Students Make Strong Showing in Cyber Security Competitions

December 4, 2014   CS @ ILLINOIS students received recognition at the 11th annual CSAW competition.
Coding Illini

Coding Illini Claim Championship Title at SC14

December 4, 2014   The Coding Illini won the Intel Parallel Universe Computing Challenge at SC14.
Ira and Debra Cohen

Ira and Debra Cohen Receive William E. Winter Award

December 4, 2014   Ira and Debra Cohen are the 2014 recipients of the William E. Winter Award.

CS @ ILLINOIS Recognizes 23 for Achievement and Service

December 1, 2014   The CS @ ILLINOIS Awards ceremony recognized many alumni and faculty for their achievements and service to the department.
Dan Roth

Roth One of Six Illinois Faculty Elected AAAS Fellows

November 24, 2014   Dan Roth was elected a 2014 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Greg Baugues

Baugues Shares Battle with Depression with CS Students

November 23, 2014   Greg Baugues spoke to students on“Developers and Depression.”